Two questions

Try using this area for frontend information.
Cycle-psycho
NewB
SELF INTRODUCTION: I've loved motorcycles all my life! I have a 2006 Dyna that ive been customizing and I am now taking on the task of building a custom chopper!
I have some mechanical skills, but im not a professional mechanic or welder. Simply a home garage type of mechanic.

Two questions

Post by Cycle-psycho »

1. I have purchased a 25mm steering stem with threaded ends on both ends, now i need to attach it to my lower tree. Do i try to tap out the tree, which only has a pilot hole at the moment, to fit the threading, or would it be better to have the stem welded in? Also, its a stainless stem, is there any problems welding it to cold rolled steel?

2. What is the best way to press in the neck cups using home garage type tools? Should i press them in now while im building and mocking up, or wait until after paint? I want to press them in now so i can assemble everything as i go
-----------------
Cycle-psycho
2006 Dyna - with lots of goodies
2012 Ultima rigid - under construction
curt
Long in the Tooth
SELF INTRODUCTION: hi everyone its me from the old bord hopeing to see everyone come here and all the newcomers . lets make this as good as the old one or even better . lookin foreward to seeing everyones projects continue and ill be continueing mine too

Re: Two questions

Post by curt »

as far as the stem i know it will weld together but im not sure if it would be prone to cracking but as far as putting the cups in i usually use a 3/4 inch threaded rod and a couple nuts to put em in and i always put mine in before i paint so it helps with the mockup process i usually tape em off real well before i paint i have never had a problem
ever notice when you hit somethin or someone with a hammer you feel instantly better
Cycle-psycho
NewB